The run that nearly didn’t happen

11 Mar

Today’s session: Speedy Geese session @ Yarralumla (5.08pm)

Distance: 10.3km
Time: 1hr 03:06min
Pace: 6.06min/km
Cals: 594
Weather: 26.4*c, wind – NE, 13kph

Sleeps to marathon: 34

If it wasn’t for a certain person, today would’ve ended up being a rest day. Why?

I decided to sleep in this morning and when I did eventually roll out of bed it was only to grab a coffee and some breakfast and then I headed back to bed to read.

Then I thought I’d run when I got back from the mall, but by then it was lunchtime so I decided to have some lunch and head out a little later.

In the meantime, the temperature was rising. It was quite warm outside.

Then there was a text from Ruth saying that she would make it to the Speedy Geese session tonight. Cool. Maybe I’d go. But then as the hours rolled by, and I was relaxing on the couch reading, any motivation I had to run just went *poof!* and evaporated. Ruth to the rescue! She’d offered to pick me up knowing full well I’d have no reason not to go. With friends like this……. πŸ™‚

And so that was how I was at the run session tonight, running hard around an oval, trying to chase other runners down, and getting chased down myself in the process.

It very nearly didn’t happen but now that its done, I’m glad it did! πŸ™‚

“What you do every day is more important than what you do once in a while.” – Gretchen Rubin, The Happiness Project

20130311-220655.jpg

One Response to “The run that nearly didn’t happen”

  1. Steve 12/03/2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Sometimes we need a little push to get going, then it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

