Charley horse

16 Mar

Last night I experienced an excruciating Charley Horse in my calf.

“A what?” you may well ask.

A Charley Horse is a term for a leg cramp that usually occurs when you’re sleeping. Apparently.

This was news to me too. Can’t say that I’d heard of this term before.

According to phrases.org.uk it’s a North American phrase that originated from baseball to describe a leg cramp. Apparently it’s a term that appears to be confined to North America and is not used or heard of in other English-speaking countries.

Enough of the trivia. There is nothing trivial about the pain you experience when woken by a calf cramping in the early hours of the morning. It would have to rate as one of the worst ways to be woken from sleep. Then I spent the next hour trying not to stretch my leg again, which seems to set off further cramping.

So why the cramping? Maybe I’m not drinking enough water? So I am consciously increasing my intake today. Lets hope this makes a difference.

Caught up with Ruth, Margaret, Ewen & Norma for coffee this morning at Birrigai Cafe down by Lake Ginninderra, the post-parkrun venue for coffee and brekkie. Janene also dropped by to say hi as well. 🙂

20130316-154603.jpg

7 Responses to “Charley horse”

  1. jkkingston 16/03/2013 at 4:02 pm #

    I knew what you meant when you said charley horse. That must be from my time in North America. I had no idea where the term came from, so thanks for filling in that gap :-). Lovely to see you today.

    • cathyn61 16/03/2013 at 5:05 pm #

      Interesting where words or terms come from. Mind you, I’d never heard of the term before. It was great to see you too!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. liz 16/03/2013 at 4:22 pm #

    Oooh …. sounds unpleasant 😦 Did it ease up for you to run Parkrun this am? And are you all set to run the WC 1/2 marathon tomorrow??

  3. Ewen 16/03/2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Haven’t heard that term since school. You need more salt on your fush and chups.

    • cathyn61 16/03/2013 at 5:04 pm #

      I actually have a lot of salt – it’s my weakness (apart from coffee & chocolate!). Could it be because of too much salt?

      I’ve never heard the term before.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. jkkingston 17/03/2013 at 12:46 pm #

    I forgot to ask, do you supplement your magnesium? Do you get enough potassium (bananas and oranges)? Straight salt (aka sodium chloride) isn’t always enough.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Relief For Night Leg Cramps | Dear Doctor Mom - 29/03/2013

    […] Charley horse (cathyn61.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

