Stromlo Forest Park run

24 Mar

Today’s session: vets run @ Stromlo Forest Park
Distance: 8km (+1.2km warm up)
Time: 43.22min
Pace: 5.15min/km
Cals: 480
Start group: 28
Finish place: 59
Weather: (9.50am) 15.4*c, wind – N, 6kph

Some mornings are better spent staying in bed rather than getting up and getting ready for a run. Not any run, mind, but a monthly vets handicap run at Stromlo Forest Park. The venue alone should’ve been enough to put me off – I’m not a fan of grassy undulating tracks. Running 38km yesterday should’ve been enough of a reason to miss this morning’s run.

So why was I there this morning, having one of the worst runs of my running life? Stupidity? Madness? Insanity? Who knows? Catching up with other runners who I don’t see on a day-to-day basis – possibly. Maybe for the coffee and chat afterwards at the Yarralumla Nursery cafe – probably! The things I do for coffee! 🙂

Anyway back to that god-awful run. It was not pretty. The first kilometre was the hardest and I really seriously doubted that I would make the distance. However I know from experience that the first kilometre can be pretty awful and things will improve. Today, marginally. Everyone else seemed to be running well, which is why many runners were passing me and I was passing very few others, at least initially.

To sum up my run today – that’s 43.22min I’m not going to get back! 😉 Happy to finish. Even happier to go and have coffee with Ruth, Margaret & Ewen. Makes it all worthwhile really.

20130324-171337.jpg

Leave a Reply

