A tale of two posts

14 May

Amazing how things can change in a day, in fact in less than 12 hours. So what follows are “before” and “after” posts.

Post 1: Getting my s*** together

6.05am: weights session + abs
Time: 54.28min
AHR: 104; MHR: 221 (HRM is playing up)
Cals: 132

I didn’t need an alarm clock this morning. Around 4am I stretched out my left leg and…*wham*…cramp attack! Holy crap, that’s a horrible way to be woken. It is the most painful thing – the intense cramping pain that just seems to go on and on and on.

However I didn’t get up at that hour – even I draw the line there. That is just way too early. Instead after a fortifying coffee brought in by Mr CJ before he headed off to work, I eventually got up around 5.35am. Plenty of time, she says. The gym doesn’t open until 6am, she says. Except I couldn’t find my weight gloves. No worries, cycle gloves will do. Membership card? I know it’s around here somewhere as I rummage through my gym bag. HRM? I only wore it yesterday so it must be here…or in the bathroom…or spare room…or??!! Shower stuff? I am having a shower at the gym after my session. @#$%^! Why didn’t I pack last night?

Mad dash to the car, throw bags in, start the engine, switch on the wipers. S…c…r…a…p…e. S…c…r…a…p…e. @#$%^! I need to scrape off the ice. Dash back indoors for a jug of warm water to pour over windscreen.

In the gym car park. I’m only a few minutes late. Halfway across the car park to the front doors and I realise I am missing my gym bag. It’s still in the car. Backtrack to collect it.

It’s been around 6 months since I’ve set foot in the gym. But it may as well have been 6 years. I had no routine however I did have my workout session plan. I spotted a few familiar faces. What really surprised me was how quiet it was.

Machines had been moved around so I spent some time searching for both the leg extension and hamstring curl machines. I am starting on the lightest weights as I really do want to be able to move tomorrow. On some machines this was okay – the lat pulldown and chest press weights could probably be increased next time but I had to keep checking the weight on the shoulder press machine. Damn, I was convinced it was heavier than…10kg! Actually even the leg extension and hamstring curl machine weights felt a lot heavier than what they actually were – and they were on the lightest setting. Oh well, can’t go setting the benchmark too high too early!

Nearing the end of the workout my tummy rumbles were becoming rather audible. I was starving! I needed input! However there was still the 5 min final blast, ab exercises and shower before I could even think about having breakfast.

Then before leaving for work I had to pack my running bag for the SG session at Dickson oval. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, it’s a double whammy today – weights in the morning and running after work. Thursday will be the same. Awesome.

Food-wise I have no complaints except I can’t randomly pick at food when bored, tired, stressed, while preparing meals, whenever. This is one of my worst habits and the hardest to break. However so far, so good. Breakfast this morning was Bircher muesli and it was both delicious and filling. Bonus! Lunch was chicken noodle soup, very fitting for this chilly weather.

And I really love the 12WBT app on my phone – it includes a food diary, plus it has my weekly program (food and exercise) if I need to refer to it eg when at the gym trying to figure out how exactly I’m supposed to do a certain exercise without looking a complete dunce.

The take home message for me today? Pack my gear the night before!

Post 2: I cried

5.31pm: SG session at Dickson oval
Distance: 5.2km
Pace: 6.42min/km
Cals: 306

I went to the SG session at Dickson oval after work. It had been a chilly day and certainly hadn’t got any warmer as the day wore on. So it was on with layers, tights and gloves for tonight’s session. I was feeling hungry and tired as my last meal was lunchtime. Work conspired against me to ensure I never got around to having afternoon tea (which I might add is highly unusual for me). I had a nagging headache that just wouldn’t go away.

After a warm up we did 2 x 10min continuous 100m intervals, with half of us up one end and the other half of the group down the other end, with each runner handing over a baton after running the 100m.

It was the final 100m. And then it happened. About 10m before the end of the run I felt that horrible popping sensation at the very top of my L hamstring, similar to what I felt 2 years ago when I tore my R hamstring. #%^*+! I couldn’t run after that as it hurt to put weight on that leg.
It hurts when I sit.
It hurts when I bend over.
It just plain hurts.
And driving home I cried. Tears of frustration because its like, here we go again.
If I’d had a block of chocolate in the house I would’ve devoured it. Not that it would’ve helped nor would it have made me feel better.

20130514-204720.jpg

16 Responses to “A tale of two posts”

  1. Steve 14/05/2013 at 10:14 pm #

    I do feel sorry for you, another ” here we go again” injury. Wait for the pain to settle, get a scan, find out the extent of the injury. You might be lucky. Stay positive, bugger the sprints.

    • cathyn61 14/05/2013 at 10:23 pm #

      I think I’ll make an appointment tomorrow to see Craig and deal with this properly right from the word go. Right now it’s just bloody sore even just sitting. It just continually aches.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Ewen 14/05/2013 at 10:28 pm #

    Hope it’s not as bad as the previous one! Relay sprints can be dangerous when it gets competitive. Take time with the rehab — you need to get well for NYC.

    • cathyn61 14/05/2013 at 10:37 pm #

      Mental note to self: no sprints. You think I’d learn! I need to get well for 12WBT let alone NY! I think lots of coffee therapy is in order (since I can’t have chocolate).

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Steve 14/05/2013 at 10:31 pm #

    Stop any other activity to not agravate the injury, Don’t know if ice will help, Craig might tell you, or a bruise might come out. No hurrying this one, so sorry to hear this. Big hug if it helps.

    • cathyn61 14/05/2013 at 10:35 pm #

      Have used ice tonight. Couldn’t do any other activity even if I wanted to. I’m definitely up for hugs though.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Jog 14/05/2013 at 10:37 pm #

    Be kind to you.

    • cathyn61 14/05/2013 at 10:41 pm #

      Right now I’m alternating between being cranky with me and feeling sorry for me.

      Sent from my iPad

  5. Louy 14/05/2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Crap Cathy. That just plain sucks. Fingers crossed its not what you think…

    • cathyn61 15/05/2013 at 6:47 am #

      Thanks Louy. Unfortunately given the pain I’m pretty sure it is what I think it is. However I’m trying to remain positive, stay away from that block of chocolate and will go to the physio instead.

      Sent from my iPad

  6. buckers26 14/05/2013 at 11:37 pm #

    Terrible news to have got an injury NOW! I understand your frustration, but deal with it right. Think of calm blue oceans…..good luck. I am sending positive thoughts and also keeping my fingers crossed for you…

    • cathyn61 15/05/2013 at 6:45 am #

      Thanks! I need all the positive thoughts I can get. The hammy is really sore today. Hopefully the physio will sort me out.

      Sent from my iPad

  7. healthychelsea 15/05/2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Is that the L&F workout? I was thinking the same thing about the shoulder press machine. I had never used the machine before, usually dumbbells, and it was quite difficult.
    Sorry to hear about your leg x

    • cathyn61 15/05/2013 at 1:47 pm #

      Hi Chelsea. Yes it is the L&F program and it was the machine. I’ve used dumbbells or a barbell in the past. The machine is hard work. 🙂

      • healthychelsea 15/05/2013 at 3:20 pm #

        I put chose the heavier weight first and knew instantly that I wouldn’t be able to finish the set.

      • cathyn61 15/05/2013 at 4:21 pm #

        Well I started with the lightest and got a rude shock!!!

        Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

