Me and my buoy

20 May

Well, it’s week 2 of the 12WBT. Let’s hope this week passes without any major dramas. I think injuring my hamstring on day #2 will be hard to beat though. 🙂

This injury means that I have to had to totally rethink my exercise. I can’t follow the cardio program and at the moment I can’t even follow the entire weights program. It also means that given I won’t be expending as many calories as I would like, I have to be super vigilant with my nutrition plan. I am quite chuffed to report that so far, so good. Okay, okay, it is only day #1 of week #2 but I’m celebrating all achievements however little.

My cardio this week will include swimming…with a pull buoy to prevent kicking. I’m also thinking of giving that strange contraption in the gym, the upper body ergometer, a whirl. I’ve always wondered what’s the point of this machine, and well now I get it! It’s a good cardio workout for those with lower body injuries or disabilities. My weights regime will focus on upper body weights. And the weekly challenge for this week is…wait for it…300 push ups. Yup, 300 push ups…on.my.toes. We can do this challenge however we want – 300 in one hit (yeah dream on), or spread out over the week. I’m opting for 50 push ups a day – 25 morning and night. And I will just put it out there now – I suck at push ups. But given my focus on upper body strength and cardio at the moment, I’m hoping this will change!

It really pays not to think too much about going to the pool early in the morning when it’s minus 2 degrees outside as this can really do my head in. I mean, what sane person does this? Well me, for one. It’s been a few months since I’ve been swimming so any gains I’d made from swim training last year for the half ironman have dwindled away. And just to add to the challenge, I would be doing the entire session with a pull buoy – yes, that’s right, my old nemesis! There was many a swim session last year when I cursed this swimming aid. Yes, it does assist with body position in the water but it does rely on upper body strength and balance, and it was the latter that I struggled with last year.

Upper body strength is sadly lacking if this morning’s session was anything to go by. The first 50m was a breeze – I was cruising along thinking that the kilometre session I had planned for this morning was going to be a breeze. But then for the next couple of 50m efforts my arms started to feel like lead weights that just didn’t want to turn over. The bonus was my heart rate was pretty high at this point – that has to count for something. And that was my warm up done – 4 x 50m. Now for the 8 x 100m main session. Things weren’t looking quite so rosy to start with and 800m was looking way too hard. However at about the 300m mark I sternly reprimanded myself: stop being a wussy sook and harden up. I have 8 x 100m to do so just bloody do it, no complaining. And the rest of the session did improve after that. And surprisingly I had no issues with the pull buoy.

The push up challenge started when I got home – I opted for 1 x 13 reps, 1 x 12 reps. I have to say that at this point I have a lot of work to do – those push ups were pitiful. I finished with ab exercises – double leg raises, crunches and plank. I had to change a couple of the exercises to those I could do. Reverse crunches and scissor kicks just aren’t possible at the moment, and even the double leg raises were proving a challenge.

And the remaining 25 push-ups for the day were completed when I got home from work tonight. 50 down, 250 to go 🙂

20130520-195508.jpg

2 Responses to “Me and my buoy”

  1. Indigo Kate 21/05/2013 at 3:25 am #

    Awesome efforts in the pool and with the pushups and with the nutrition! Injury or no injury you’re powering through week 2. And you’ve done a half ironman!? Wow. Keep up the great work.

    • cathyn61 21/05/2013 at 6:30 am #

      Well so far, so good. I’m waiting for DOMS to kick in!

Leave a Reply

