Getting to the core of the matter

24 May

3.2 degrees outside this morning. The forecast said that it felt like 0.7 degrees. So on went the layers – tights, trackie pants, singlet, long sleeved top, spray jacket, fleecy jacket, gloves, fleecy headband and cap. All for a walk around the block as a warm up for the core strength session. The things I do!

I’m not a fast walker at the best of times – that’s why I run! But at the moment the only pace I can do is slow, which is extremely frustrating. But I trundled around the block in the dark and the cold and 18 minutes later I was back indoors.

Now to get to the core of the session! And according to my program the focus was to be on planks – one of the best exercises for core strength and function.

First up – the kneeling core and balance exercise. Thank goodness I was doing this in the privacy of my home because my balance is crap. Left leg and right arm up, balance on right leg and left arm. Yeah right, I think I resembled the leaning tower of Pisa, that is, when I didn’t topple over. Eventually I got the knack but the execution wasn’t elegant. Hmm, definitely something to work on.

This was followed by 60sec of assuming the plank position. Not too shabby.

Side plank raises – again no problems.

Side taps – Woot! I’m on a roll now!

Side plank position for 45 secs – no worries.

I had to change the double crunch to the plain ordinary crunch exercise because of my dodgy hammy.

Hmmm, think I’ll forgo the hammy stretch.

And finally the fancy planks – don’t know that I’m too rapt in these. Moving from a plank on toes and elbows to toes and hands, and back again, 12 times. That’s more challenging than it sounds, particularly as I was trying to maintain good form and a stable core.

And now to do this circuit twice more, for a total of 3 sets. Not feeling the love for those fancy planks by this stage.

And let’s not forget the 25 push ups, again done in one go with no break. (And another 25 tonight. Only 100 push ups to go!)

Food front:
It was a hungry day. I’m blaming the weather. It’s cold, I’m cold and when I’m like this, all I want to do is eat. Nothing satisfies me. So today it was a case of clock watching until my next meal. It also doesn’t help when people are eating raisin toast in front of me! And tonight while food shopping at the Mall, all I could see was chocolate bars, biscuits (choc coated ones) and hot chips. Lately I’ve developed an unhealthy obsession for hot chips (pre-12WBT). Dinner was a naked burrito from Mad Mex: brown rice, black beans, slow cooked shredded beef and tomato salsa. Even this has failed to satisfy me. I think I’ll be dreaming of food tonight! Still that’s better than actually caving in to cravings! 🙂

20130524-202011.jpg

2 Responses to “Getting to the core of the matter”

  1. kay2013yr30 24/05/2013 at 9:31 pm #

    LOL its so funny that so many people go through the same things when they tackle these changes. I hear u about being cold. It is the worst time for caving in to comfort food. And just yesterday I stood staring at the chocolate aisle in the supermarket for like 5 mins before I made myself walk away. But I say HIGH 5 to both of us for staying strong. And when summer finally puts us out of our misery we will be showing off our bikini bodies to prove our hard work & determination was worth it.
    Kay2013

    • cathyn61 24/05/2013 at 9:45 pm #

      I hear you! But high five to both of us for getting through without caving in. Tomorrow is another day!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

