Aaaaargh!*

2 Jul

*Translation – a cry of frustration.

Why?

It appears I have sartorious tendonitis ie inflammation of the sartorious tendon. And it’s on my right side, around my hip bone. its very tender to touch. My left hamstring? That’s fine – it’s coming along very nicely, thank you. But now my right side must be feeling left out and has thrown a dummy spit. No thanks to my anatomy either.

20130702-195947.jpg
Seems like I naturally have reduced range of motion in my hips compared to most people. It’s the way I am. It’s not just the result of tight muscles – baby I was born this way! All those years as a child practising and practising, determined to do the splits like all my friends – well it was never going happen thanks to my anatomical makeup! I literally can’t do it. And the downside of limited hip rotation is a tendency to get hip, hamstring, quad, hip flexor injuries. That’s me to a T!

But back to this stupid injury – it just came on like a stealth bomber. I can’t pinpoint when it started or how it started. I actually first noticed it on the weekend because the area is tender to touch. Then I went to do lunges today and nup, that wasn’t going to happen.

Good news? It doesn’t affect my running. So I can continue with that though I can’t increase my distances or frequency yet. But I’m to lay off weighted leg exercises: leg press, squats, lunges, etc. Going downhills also hurts so no going downstairs.

And back to the physio next week.

It never bloody ends…

20130702-200032.jpg

15 Responses to “Aaaaargh!*”

  1. liz 02/07/2013 at 9:08 pm #

    And so such injuries go on and on and on … So … what are you allowed to do – ie, how much running? Enough to start on your New York Marathon campaign or ?? I think we + Ruth need to have brekkie again soon – yes??

    • cathyn61 02/07/2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Hi Liz. I’ve started my NY campaign. I. Running though its not much but I have to start somewhere. At this stage this injury affects my gym session more than my running.

      And yes, a brekkie again soon would be great. Some of us need cheering up!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. littlegreenrunningshoes 02/07/2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Hi Liz! Be careful not to over train and make your injuries worse! There is nothing worse than having to take more time off than originally needed because of an injury! Calf Raises and Toe lifts would be super helpful to build strength back in your pain areas! Hope you feel better soon!

    • cathyn61 02/07/2013 at 11:11 pm #

      Thanks for dropping by! I am being careful because I really can’t afford any more setbacks on my road to New York. It’s just annoying these injuries happen even when I’m being careful.

      • littlegreenrunningshoes 02/07/2013 at 11:21 pm #

        I’m so sorry for calling you Liz! I looked at the wrong name! I’m sure you will be great! Just stay positive and take it one day at a time! Thank you for sharing your journey!

      • cathyn61 03/07/2013 at 6:36 am #

        No worries Jenna!

        Sent from my iPad

  3. getgoing-getrunning 03/07/2013 at 5:53 am #

    Bummer!
    I know what you mean about unending! This year I’ve done a hammy at footy training, followed by plantar fasciitis from overtraining, and after getting those sorted I went out and sprained my ankle in a footy game!
    I am not my health insurance company’s favourite customer!
    But! That’s life and you strike me as a person who would rather risk injury for the achievement of ‘doing’, rather than sit on the couch and ask ‘what if’.

    So, keep on truckin’ and all the best for your recovery, and NY!

    • cathyn61 03/07/2013 at 6:34 am #

      Thanks fir the encouragement Bernie.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Chris Collins 03/07/2013 at 8:20 am #

    Sounds like you’re doing too much too soon? Maybe mix-and-match your sports to get overall leg stability and strength?

    • cathyn61 03/07/2013 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks for the advice. I’ll try mixing it up and also doing it gradually.

      Sent from my iPad

  5. Black Knight 03/07/2013 at 4:02 pm #

    Sorry for the injures but I see that you never give up. Brava.
    All the best for your recovery.

    • cathyn61 03/07/2013 at 10:53 pm #

      I will never give up but oh boy, sometimes it’s frustrating. But I’ll keep plodding away. Thanks for your message.

      Sent from my iPad

  6. sookie03 04/07/2013 at 6:53 am #

    Oh no! I can totally sympathize with you. I have been struggling with injuries since March this year due to my very tight hip. I started doing lots of glute strengthening exercises, and I stretch my hip flexors (almost) every day. It seems to help. Good luck!

  7. Dash 10/07/2013 at 6:06 pm #

    Oh no! Wishing you a speedy recovery time

    • cathyn61 10/07/2013 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks! It’s frustrating when I develop new injuries. One is enough!

Leave a Reply

