An exercise in frustration

2 Aug

Aaaargh, walking! Something we do every day without a thought. So why is walking fast, or at least attempting to walk fast, so damn frustrating?! Last week I thought I had it all figured out and I even managed a PB of a sub 9min/km pace. This week I have been all over the place with pace, walking form and times. My times have been really quite slow, even for me, and while for one of my walks I can say I was focusing on form not pace, other walks were meant to be done at a brisk pace. Sheesh! Running is so much easier….if I could do it.

Taking yesterday off from any form of exercise did wonders. I felt so much better when I woke this morning. I managed a 6km walk before breakfast, followed up with a circuit including push ups, prone and side planks, double crunches, medicine ball crunches, side taps and other ab exercises.

20130802-204536.jpg

4 Responses to “An exercise in frustration”

  1. Ewen 02/08/2013 at 11:18 pm #

    Yeah, walking fast isn’t easy. I get pretty much the same HRs race walking as when running fast. I think you’re right though — running is easier. More natural at least!

    • cathyn61 03/08/2013 at 7:32 am #

      And I can’t race walk properly because the stress it puts on the injury. Truly feeling totally p****d off at the moment.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Jog 03/08/2013 at 11:28 am #

    Walking is so inefficient compared to running. With running you get the benefit of momentum and so it flows more and feels like a lot less effort than walking. Hang in there with the walking though. It’s still good for fitness 🙂 BTW, we must be due for brekky again soon. Perhaps Ewen should join us in person rather than via mid breakfast text messaging 🙂 ??

    • cathyn61 04/08/2013 at 9:53 am #

      Thanks Liz. I agree, brekkie is on the cards. It will need to be a weekend one though if Ewen would like to join us.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

