Ho hum…same old, same old

5 Aug

Sometimes I really wish I could write something that’s a bit different, a little bit out there, but my life is pretty boring.

This morning was no different from any other Monday morning in that I was up early for my walk. However, the walk today was extended by a kilometre – from 6km to 7km. Other than that, there was nothing out of the ordinary to report.

Weather-wise, there was no frost and I did warm up relatively quickly. No frost though does not translate to no layers – I was still wearing several layers plus gloves plus my big woolly jacket.

My hammy was a little sore from yesterday’s attempted run and walking uphill is not easy at the moment. The hammy hates hills. The walk was followed by a circuit of pushups, dips and ab exercises at home.

And that’s pretty much my Monday exercise done and dusted.

Food-wise,
Breakfast: it was apple ricotta toast. I love apple, I love ricotta and I love toast so obviously this is one of my faves. 🙂
Lunch: I had leftover lentils in the fridge which really needed to be used (I hate waste) so I oven roasted some beetroots over the weekend and then made lentil and beetroot salad with ricotta for work. Combined with baby spinach, fresh mint (from the garden) and drizzled with a mix of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, this is a delicious meal.
Dinner: I love salmon and so for dinner tonight I had ginger salmon stir-fry with broccolini.
Snacks: apple with almond spread: corn thins with avocado and tomato.

And just to round out Monday, the following article was reported in the media last week. It grabbed my attention…

Healthy diet won’t stop menopause weight gain</strong>

Being a healthy eater will not stop women gaining weight once they hit middle age, Australian researchers have found.

A study of more than 7000 Australian women found once they hit their late 40s they were likely to gain weight irrespective of how closely they followed the Australian Dietary Guidelines for healthy eating.
“Women, on average, will gain two kilograms over the menopause years and the only women who resist that are women who put either extra focus on their diet or extra focus on physical activity or both,” the study’s chief investigator, Clare Collins, said.
The study followed healthy women aged 48 to 56 for six years, and found those who ate the most healthy foods gained just as much weight over that time as those who ate the least healthy foods – about 1.7 kilograms.
“Our earlier research had found people who had a higher diet quality score also consumed more calories, because if you have a greater frequency and variety of healthy foods you also consume more energy,” she said. “So the good news is we showed they don’t gain [more] weight.”
Professor Collins said analysis did seem to be finding a link between high fruit and vegetable intake and less weight gain, which she suspected was due to switching from unhealthy foods.

Hmmm, guess I’ll just have to put extra focus on my physical activity. 🙂

20130805-202429.jpg

4 Responses to “Ho hum…same old, same old”

  1. crazytraintotinkytown 06/08/2013 at 2:55 am #

    Love that quote and I feel much the same at the moment, night shift at the salt mine, bed then get up to work some more on the house

    • cathyn61 06/08/2013 at 6:27 am #

      Not very exciting I admit. At least in November ill have plenty to write about given I’ll be in the US for a month!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. reganking2013 07/08/2013 at 3:06 am #

    I was so confused by your mention of frost until I worked out you’re in Australia!! And I’d ignore the study – I am totally convinced that those studies are invented purely for the purposes of depressing people! 😉

    • cathyn61 07/08/2013 at 6:38 am #

      And I live in a very cold part of Australia, especially in Winter.

Leave a Reply

