Bruised toenails

18 Aug

I have a problem. A very painful problem. The toenail on my big toe is so sore. Looking at it, it’s looking quite red in the upper half of the nail so I’m guessing there’s a bruise underneath. It hurts to walk because of the pressure exerted on the toe when I take a step.

Ouchies.

I never really anticipated problems with walking. I have a long history of running injuries but walking?! I mean, come on, it’s walking for crying out loud! Hmmm, I think I’m going to have to review my thinking regarding walking – it’s a bloody tough gig. πŸ™‚

So what do I do with a very painful bruised toenail? Suggestions gratefully accepted as I have another training walk to do on Tuesday.

This afternoon I walked 22.6km – my longest walk to date. It took almost 3 1/2 hours, with an average pace of 9.11min/km. Ruth walked with me around Lake Ginninderra, which is where we saw Kathy out on her bike. We had a chat for a bit before Kathy headed off and we continued on. There was a really strong wind blowing which sometimes made it tough going, but gee it really helps having company. That, and the lure of coffee! Which we had at Black Pepper, before I headed off home and Ruth to the mall.

Now to hobble off to bed πŸ™‚

20130818-202431.jpgTomorrow πŸ™‚

15 Responses to “Bruised toenails”

    • cathyn61 19/08/2013 at 6:59 am #

      Thanks for this David. I’ll definitely give it a go.

      Sent from my iPad

  1. getgoing-getrunning 19/08/2013 at 8:05 am #

    Great news! Keep up the good recovery!

    • getgoing-getrunning 20/08/2013 at 12:22 am #

      Sorry Cathy! My phone is playing tricks with me and I accidentally posted here and not on another blog!
      Anyway, let me know if you find a solution, because I’ve had the same thing pop up on my middle toe after the last two long runs, and I’m keen to see if there are any solutions around!

      • cathyn61 20/08/2013 at 6:31 am #

        No worries. Will let you know if I have any success. The main suggestion seems to be buy shoes a half size bigger.

        Sent from my iPad

      • getgoing-getrunning 20/08/2013 at 6:35 am #

        Could be. My shoes fit really well, but your feet swell on long runs so maybe that’s it?

      • cathyn61 20/08/2013 at 6:37 am #

        Possibly. Same with long distance walking. I don’t usually have the problem running but it’s painful.

        Sent from my iPad

  2. Kristen R. 19/08/2013 at 11:58 am #

    Sorry for the bruised toe. You may need to get your shoes a half size bigger. I lost a three toenails after my first marathon — not the best feeling, but, oh, the bragging rights! πŸ™‚ Brag away!

    • cathyn61 20/08/2013 at 5:46 pm #

      It seems a bit odd bragging about walking though! Even if its long distance. I might have to investigate the bigger shoe size option otherwise my poor toes aren’t going to cope!

  3. Steve 19/08/2013 at 6:30 pm #

    Shoes half a size bigger to allow for feet swelling & foot moving forward so toes hit the front. Same rules apply to running down hill, shouldn’t happen. I might be lucky, again, but haven’t had black toe nails or bruising for years.

    • cathyn61 20/08/2013 at 6:35 am #

      It’s only a problem with long distance walking. I don’t have this problem when running.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Lulu 20/08/2013 at 6:24 pm #

    Hi CJ, I had this problem when I was training for the 100km walk I did last year. I suggest very short toe nails, thinner socks that I wear for running and then bigger shoes if needed. I didn’t get bigger shoes but had a range of shoes to rotate on the day, including a pair of Steve’s running shoes. I didn’t need them in the end but was good to know they were available.

    • cathyn61 20/08/2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Thanks Lulu! Will try out these suggestions (ahem…I already have short toenails, just so you know) but will definitely try the others. Who thought this walking caper would be so…challenging!!!

      Sent from my iPad

  5. Steve 20/08/2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Training to walk a marathon is going to be very different from running one. Time out on the road will double at least, so the chance of an injury will increase as well. That means feet as well swelling in size & chances of blisters etc are also a possibility. Treat it like a half ironman, except walking all the way.

    • cathyn61 20/08/2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Who would’ve thought it would be so hard! I’m certainly finding out.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

