Tequila sunrise

28 Aug

“It’s another tequila sunrise…”

I’m not referring to the Eagles’ song, a 1973 song written by Don Henley and Glenn Frey, and recorded by the Eagles. It was the first single from the band’s second album Desperado. My dad loved the Eagles and so I heard this song a lot the year it was released. However don’t get me started on Neil Diamond’s Hot August Night album released in 1972 – my mum’s favourite. This was on high rotation on the stereo and to this day I can’t listen to a Neil Diamond song from that album without gagging. I am definitely not a Neil Diamond fan.

Tequila sunrise….it’s an indirect reference to the cocktail made with tequila, orange juice and grenadine and which it gets its name from the way the grenadine settles in the bottom of the glass, giving the impression of a sunrise. It was the drink of choice for a period of time during my misspent youth and to be honest, I don’t think I could even face one now, let alone drink it! Too many memories and not all of them good! Besides its so sickly sweet.

It was the sunrise this morning that reminded me of the Tequila Sunrise cocktail – funny how little things like that can bring back all sorts of memories. It was a gorgeous sky, just before the sun popped over the horizon. It was a bit chilly but my random 30 sec jogs soon warmed me up. I think I am improving on these short jogs though I still can’t do more than 30 secs. However I can string a couple relatively close together, with only short walking breaks between, as long as it’s done on the flat. I’m finding that jogging up or down hill still doesn’t work for me.

Had a lovely lunch with Ruth at Shorty’s – a new bar/cafe in Civic where Milk & Honey used to be. Had a great cappuccino even it it did have chocolate on the top 🙂 Both of us had the chicken skewers on corn tortillas with avocado, lettuce, tomato and mayo. Wasn’t the most elegant dish to eat as my tortillas disintegrated when I tried wrapping the filling to eat them.

20130828-211444.jpg

4 Responses to “Tequila sunrise”

  1. Carolyn @ Champagne Cartel 29/08/2013 at 11:07 am #

    I’m going to have that song going around in my head all day now! I was in a café recently and a little boy – around 4 – at the next table was asked what his favourite song was. His answer: Hot August Night. I laughed so hard.

    (For what it’s worth, I was subjected to Neil Diamond too but that wasn’t the worst of it – my mother filled my youth with Simply Red. Yes, really. There isn’t enough therapy in the world to fix that.)

    • cathyn61 30/08/2013 at 6:50 am #

      Hehehe! Simply Red, Neil Diamond….oh the trauma!!!!

  2. Michelle 29/08/2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Ohh that made me laugh, my father was also a big Eagles fan but my mother bless her soul was not so passionate about Neil Diamond… though I do still know far more Sting songs by heart than I care to admit.

    • cathyn61 30/08/2013 at 6:50 am #

      I must ask my boys whether there is any music they can’t listen to because they heard it way too many times growing up! But yes, Neil Diamond was well and truly overdone when I was growing up!

Leave a Reply

