The things you see…

5 Oct

Well I’m officially back into walking training after completing a 23km walk this morning. Yes there is some discomfort but its manageable.

It was an early start as I needed to get the walk done before my scheduled massage later in the morning. So I was up at 5am (on a long weekend no less!) and out the door at 5.45am. 3hr 50min later I was finally back home again, ravenous, thirsty and tired. I’m still surprised how tiring walking can be.

As I was passing the Belconnen Arts Centre down by the lake, I came across a very strange sight. Not something one sees every day. Imagine a huge hot air balloon sporting large breasts and a head that resembles a turtle.

It’s a skywhale!

No? Never heard of it?!

Hindenboob?! Oh never mind, here’s a picture…

20131005-204156.jpg

Certainly eye catching, wouldn’t you say? A conversation starter…

This was my first experience of seeing the skywhale up close and personal.

According to the blurb on the Canberra Centenary website:

“The Centenary of Canberra has unveiled its largest commission – a sculpture by internationally renowned artist and former Canberran Patricia Piccinini that is a 34m long, 23m high hot-air balloon called The Skywhale. The Skywhale is at least twice as big as a standard hot-air balloon, weighs half a tonne and used more than 3.5km of fabric. It took 16 people seven months and more than 3.3million stitches to design and make.”

Then not long after seeing the Skywhale in all it’s glory I saw Ruth who was obviously warming up for parkrun. We had a very brief chat before parting ways – Ruth to the parkrun and me continuing on my never-ending walk (well it felt like that).

However eventually I did make it home, and after a rushed breakfast (I was close to inhaling the contents of the fridge I was that hungry) headed off for my much-needed massage.

I’d like to say it was heavenly bliss but I’d be lying! There were quite a few tight knots and spots that needed working out. But I felt so good by the end of it. I have another massage scheduled for 3 weeks time, just before leaving for New York.

Caught up for a coffee with Mr B in the afternoon to discuss New York accommodation and hear all about his recent overseas trip.

And I got to see Lorna Jane in the flesh. She was signing books at her store in the mall. 🙂

Tonight I had an Epsom salts bath. I think it will be an early night. That 23km walk has knocked the stuffing out of me. Who would’ve thought?!

20131005-205752.jpg

4 Responses to “The things you see…”

  1. Ewen 05/10/2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Very eye catching. I like the photo with the sun on one boob. Good long walk. 23k is over a half marathon! There’s still hope for you to finish NY!

    • cathyn61 06/10/2013 at 10:05 pm #

      Unless something goes horribly wrong I plan on being on the start line on 3 November.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. getgoing-getrunning 07/10/2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Hindenboob. LOL
    You’re walking looks to be going well. All the best for NYC

    • cathyn61 08/10/2013 at 8:54 pm #

      Thanks! So far so good. It’s getting closer that’s for sure.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

