Here I go again…

22 Sep

Ever get a feeling of déjà vu? Of…what goes around, comes around; or here we go again….?

That’s how I felt tonight as I sat through the information session for the Bilbys novice triathlon program.

There was the “#%%* what am I doing here” feeling as well.

So I’ve gone back to basics and have registered for the novice program. I feel like a rank beginner anyway. I can’t run (well it’s not great), suck at swimming and doubly suck at cycling. So in my mind that makes me a rank beginner!

Tonight entailed a brief overview of what we should expect over the next 7 weeks, some thoughts and experiences from graduates of last year’s novice program and an introduction from each of the coaches. They emphasised the friendliness of the club and to not compare yourself to anyone else (something I am guilty of), and to focus on your own goals.

At the end of the session I saw a friendly face, someone I knew. Not that she is doing the program, her husband is one of the swim coaches. And then after collecting my Bilbys drink bottle and t-shirt I headed home, trying to quell the nerves that are starting to bubble up in my stomach.

Pour first training session is on Saturday afternoon: bike skills.

3 Responses to “Here I go again…”

  1. Steve 22/09/2014 at 10:57 pm #

    One step at a time, don’t get ahead of yourself. And enjoy this journey. So far, so good.

  2. jogblog 22/09/2014 at 11:08 pm #

    Yey! You’ve returned to Bilby’s and to blogging :). See you at brekkie on Thurs. That’s 3 B’s 🙂

  3. Ewen 26/09/2014 at 5:49 pm #

    Pour training session? Is it going to pour on Saturday?
    I’ve been getting back on the bike too – maybe we can do a long ride one day (once you’re no longer a beginner)?

Leave a Reply

