I think I can…..

5 Oct

I know I can

Sunday mornings. For the past 12 months or so, Sunday has meant one thing – a sleep in. The one day of the week when I don’t have to roll out of bed at some ungodly hour of the morning, usually when it’s still dark outside to do some of form of exercise. Insanity, I know, but it’s usually the only time of the day I can guarantee getting it done.

So why was I getting up, having breakfast and donning running gear well before 8am this morning? What madness had gripped me?

It was the Bilbys’ long run. Of course, what else could it have been. There have been times this week where I have seriously questioned my sanity in signing up to this triathlon program. Moving out of my comfort zone has not been an entirely pleasant experience…challenging comes to mind.

Anyway there I was at 8.30am along with the rest of the crazy bunch of newbies milling around across the road from the War Memorial car park waiting to be told what we were doing this sunny morning (it really was – an absolutely stunning morning to be out).

There were 10km, 8km, 6km and shorter options on offer. I elected to do the 8km as I haven’t run further than this and I haven’t run trails in a very long time. There were 5 in our group plus 2 Bilbys’ volunteers, so 7 in all. After a warm up session we were off.

When it comes to running I’m a slow starter. It generally takes me a few kms to get into my stride hence why I’m a distance runner. But this morning I was trying to keep up with the others, who took off at a brisk pace. Initially I was chatting with Liz who was running with me. However both of us were starting to breathe rather heavily and my answers were getting shorter and shorter. I was also tending to ask more questions so Liz could do the bulk of the talking! The hills were doing me in as I’m just not used to running them and so I ended up walking for a bit. Damn! Had I been over-confident? Should I have gone for a group doing a shorter distance? I hate it when these negative thoughts start messing with my mind. Can I? Can’t I? I was really starting to doubt myself.

After a breather I started running again and took it slowly up the hills. I think I can, I think I can…slowly I was gaining ground on the others in front of me and eventually caught up with them before the turn around. I was also starting to get into a rhythm with my running, my breathing was settling down and while the hills were still hard, I could at least run them without resorting to walking.

From about the 5km mark I was actually enjoying the run. It was a beautiful morning, I had great company and my running felt good. My Sunday sleep in, which I’d sacrificed for this run, was a distant memory.

Afterwards most of us headed over to the War Memorial café for coffee and a chat.

All in all, it was a great Sunday morning training session.

Sunday-Morning-Coffee

2 Responses to “I think I can…..”

  1. Steve 05/10/2014 at 9:43 pm #

    At least you know every corner on every trail where you ran, no getting lost.

    • cathyn61 06/10/2014 at 8:08 am #

      Yes but it’s been a very long time so it’s all a bit hazy.

      >

Leave a Reply

