Return to Dickson Oval

21 Oct

It was with much trepidation that I showed up for an interval session at Dickson Oval tonight. I haven’t been back here since ‘that’ night in May last year. And I am very wary of interval sessions these days.

However, we started with a gentle warm up followed by stretches and run throughs, focusing on technique. It feels odd being treated as a ‘novice’ runner! Sometimes I have to bite my tongue!

Gary had set us a pyramid session and initially confused everyone when he was trying to describe it – given that he had set workouts for extra short, short, medium, long and extra long distances! Fortunately he had written out the workouts as well and so it was a case of check the workout for the distance you decided to do and then just do it.

I decided to do the medium workout:

  • 200m hard/200m easy
  • 2 x 600m hard/200m easy
  • 1 x 1km hard/200m easy
  • 1-2 x 600m hard/200m easy
  • 200m hard/200m easy

Running around a track is never my idea of fun but it wasn’t so bad. Everyone is going at their own pace and doing different distances so there is never any pressure to keep up. There were the speedy ones that flew around the track, others running at a slower but consistent pace, some alternating between walking and jogging and then there was me – initially huffing and puffing but eventually getting into a comfortable pace. There was no sprinting involved!

So the return to the scene of the ‘crime’ was uneventful – hot, sweaty work involving lots of huffing and puffing but I felt a sense of achievement once I’d finished. It wasn’t fast by any stretch of the imagination, except in my own mind! But it’s probably the hardest workout I’ve done in a while and hopefully I will see some speed return…one day.

untitled

6 Responses to “Return to Dickson Oval”

  1. Steve 21/10/2014 at 9:22 pm #

    The hardest part would have the mental, return to the scene of the crime. Wonderful to get there & do it. Well done.

    • cathyn61 22/10/2014 at 5:34 am #

      Every time I ran down the straight I thought about that night in May! But it was good to be back.

      >

  2. Ewen 21/10/2014 at 9:26 pm #

    You’re game! Hope there weren’t any relay sprints 😉 Now that you’re doing speedwork you don’t have any excuse to miss Monday nights at Speedygeese.

    • cathyn61 22/10/2014 at 5:30 am #

      It was enough that I showed up at Dickson oval for intervals. I’m taking it slowly! And no sprinting!

      >

      • Geoff Moore 22/10/2014 at 2:28 pm #

        Sprinting is amazingly slow for some, these days.

      • cathyn61 22/10/2014 at 5:11 pm #

        Join the club.

        >

Leave a Reply

