The last gasp

30 Apr

Never give upoh my golly gosh…what a shock to the system tonight was. I went along to Speedy Geoff’s Tuesday night session at Dickson oval – something I hope will be a regular Tuesday night fixture in my calendar.

It started off really well. Chatting with Kelly, Caroline, Susan and others followed by a gentle warm up jog. Yep, this was okay, I can handle this.

Then, Geoff mentioned ‘relays’. Teams of two to start with (our super awesome team of Susan and me) – running 300m, pass the baton to your team member then jog slowly back 100m to wait for your team member to arrive with the baton. And so on. For around 15 minutes. I’ve been training for and running a marathon – I only know one speed – slow. So this was killing me. My lungs were burning, my legs hurt, my heart was pounding and all I could think was, how far 300m is! It really felt like I was going to experience my last gasp! I am so not used to this.

This was followed by teams of three (more awesomeness – we now had Kelly join us) – with each person running 200m before passing the baton. For 15 minutes or so. I’m not sure whether I had become used to my world of pain or whether it was actually easier, but it didn’t seem as bad as the 300m efforts. Mind you, 15 minutes seemed to be taking an awfully long time.

But it did eventually come to an end and then we did another gentle warm down jog. This bit I like. 🙂

I know its good for me and I need the speed work. Its gotta get better!

I’ll be back!

5.36pm: Speedy Geoff’s Dickson oval session
Distance: around 8km (this is only approximate because there were a couple of occasions I forgot to turn on my watch)
Time: 49.20min (again this includes standing time)
Pace: 6.02min/km (trust me, there were times when I was running a lot faster than this)
Cals: 465
Weather: 18*c, wind – NNW, 15kph; very mild conditions

Leave a comment