Unscheduled rest day

17 Sep

That nagging, niggly pain in the region of my right hip flexor? Yep, it’s still there – dammit, it hasn’t gone away. 😦

So I made the decision to have a (unscheduled) rest day. I have been doing some stretches during the day and did some more when I got home tonight. If need be, I will lay off running and lower body weights for the rest of this week and just focus on my swimming and cycling. I won’t let this sideline me or get me down. I’ll work around the nagging, niggly pain and hopefully it will go away with some rest.

Sheesh, and just when I think all’s going well with my training……

Tomorrow: the plan is to swim before work and then do a bike intervals session on the wind trainer after work. 🙂

“Every great story on the planet happened when someone decided not to give up, but kept going no matter what.” – Spryte Loriano

2 Responses to “Unscheduled rest day”

  1. Steve 17/09/2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Thank god you are taking a safe approach to this little setback. Work around the problem, swim all week if needed. This far out from race day would be a good chance to just swim close to full race distance without stopping. It’s an endurance event for you, not speed, so see how you go now, then work more on time than effort.
    Me thinks it’s a cycling caused problem, again it’s an endurance injury, the 10% rule applies to all exercise. The big jump in cycle distance & time may have been too much. Easy this week, get over the niggles & then onwards & upwards. Good luck, take care.

  2. Ewen 17/09/2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Bugger. Hopefully a couple of easy days will do the trick.

Leave a comment